Thursday, July 2, 2020
 

CONFERENCE SCHEDULE

JULY 14  
JULY 15

JULY 16

Tuesday, July 14, 2020  
   
11:00 a.m. EDT/9:00 a.m. MDT Welcome Remarks and Association Update

SPEAKER:
John Huth
Board Member
Montana Captive Insurance Association
11:15 a.m. EDT/9:15 a.m. MDT

Commissioners Message – Keeping Montana the Best in the West
Montana’s insurance commissioner/auditor will share his captive regulatory vision for the years ahead.

SPEAKER:

Matt Rosendale
Commissioner of Securities & Insurance
MT State Auditor’s Office

1:00 p.m. EDT/ 11:00 a.m. MDT

Becoming a Top Partner Choice for Broker/Advisors
Broker/advisors are playing an increasingly active role in guiding their employer clients about the selection of captive managers and supporting service providers. So how do broker/advisors decide whether or not a captive manager or service provider will be included on their list of preferred partners? Perhaps equally important, what are the reasons why they would never recommend you? These important questions will be answered by one of the top broker/consultants specializing in the self-insurance marketplace.

SPEAKER:

Erin Weenum
Chief Strategist, Employee Benefits
Leavitt Group

Wednesday, July 15, 2020  
   
11:00 a.m. EST/ 9:00 a.m. MDT

The Montana Captive Domicile Outlook – 2020 and Beyond
Montana’s lead captive regulator details activity in the domicile during 2020 and will discuss how they see the state positioned for the future with regard to new captive formation and ongoing regulation.

SPEAKER:

Steve Matthews
Captive Insurance Coordinator
Office of the Montana Commissioner of Securities & Insurance

1:00 p.m. EST/ 11:00 a.m. MDT

Raising the Bar for Captive Managers 

There has been on ongoing debate for several years about what should be done to ensure that captive managers operate at the highest level of competency and ethical standards for the good of the overall industry. Responding to this perceived need for action, the Self-Insurance Institute of America, Inc. (SIIA) produced a Captive Manager Code of Conduct document that has been adopted by many leading captive managers working in multiple domiciles. One of the principal contributors to the SIIA-produced code, will provide an overview and address questions/comments from the audience.

SPEAKER:

Kevin Doherty
Member
Dickinson Wright PLLC

3:00 p.m. EST/ 1:00 p.m. MDT

How to – and How Not to -Make Your Captive’s Regulator Happy 

This session will cover the top captive regulatory practices. It will also include various scenarios including good, bad and ugly fact patterns with one of Montana’s key captive regulators providing a candid reaction to each.

SPEAKERS:

Dana Hentges Sheridan, Esq.
Deputy General Counsel
Acrisure



Tal Redpath
Captive Insurance Examiner
Office of the Montana Commissioner of Securities & Insurance

Thursday, July 16, 2020  
   
11:00 a.m. EST - 9:00 a.m.  MDT

Montana's Captive Regulators Take Your Questions (LIVE)

This will be a unique "Live" opportunity to ask key regulators any questions you may have doing captive business in Montana.  

HOST:

Steve Matthews
Captive Insurance Coordinator
Office of the Montana Commissioner of Securities & Insurance

Tal Redpath
Captive Insurance Examiner
Office of the Montana Commissioner of Securities & Insurance

1:00 p.m. EST/ 11:00 a.m.  MDT

Market Volatility and Your Portfolio 
In this era of heightened stock market volatility, it is more important than ever to closely review your captive’s investment strategy. A leading financial advisor will walk you through what you should be considering when developing your investment strategies.

SPEAKER:

Carl E. Terzer
Principal
CapVisor Associates, Inc.
 

3:00 p.m. EST/ 1:00p.m. MDT

MCIA Lobbyist Report

MCIA’s lobbyist will preview 2021 legislative session with a specific focus on captive insurance-related developments.

SPEAKER:

Aimee Grmoljez
Attorney
Crowley Fleck PLLP

   

 | Conference Home |